Skip to main content

IT@Cornell


Sharing Your Calendar

With Exchange calendar, you can open someone else's calendar only if they say you can. The only information that is available to everyone is what's called your "free/busy" times. Your free/busy times are shown when someone attempts to schedule you for a meeting.

If you would like everyone, or just some people, to see more details about your Exchange calendar, you have a few options.

  1. You can adjust your settings for everyone at Cornell.
  2. You can share a read-only view of your calendar through an email invitation.
  3. You can share read-only or higher-level view through setting permissions.
  4. You can delegate your calendar, so other people can manage it just like you can.

Please note: Undergraduate student employees can have undergraduate Exchange accounts. You can share or delegate your calendar to these students in the same way as you would for faculty and staff.

Sharing your calendar with everyone at Cornell

This option changes what everyone at Cornell can see about your calendar.

  1. In Outlook's Navigation Pane, click Calendar.
  2. Below the heading My Calendars, you’ll see the entry Calendar, with your account name listed next to it in pale gray text. That’s the entry we’ll be working with in the following steps.
  3. Right-click Calendar. From the menu that appears, click Properties. A Calendar Properties dialog box will open.
  4. Click the Permissions tab.
  5. In the list at the top of the Permissions tab, click Default. (Do not, for any reason, delete this entry. Deleting it will cause errors.)
  6. From the Permission Level drop-down list, select the desired level of access. (What do these choices mean?) We recommend that you choose one of these:
    Free/Busy time - this is the default value. When proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, everyone can see blocks of time when you are busy, but cannot see other details, such as subject, location, participants, notes, or attachments. (See our Proposing a Meeting page for details on checking availability while proposing a meeting.)
    Free/Busy time, subject, location - when proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, everyone can see time, subject, and location of the items on your calendar, but cannot see other details, such as participants, notes, or attachments. (See our Proposing a Meeting page for details for details on checking availability while proposing a meeting.)
    Reviewer - everyone can open your calendar and see the details of the items on your calendar, but can't add, delete, or change anything. (See our Viewing a Shared Calendar page for details on how they can open your calendar.)
  7. Click OK.

 

Sharing your calendar with specific people

By email invitation (read-only view)

This method lets you share your calendar by sending an email notification to the person. This is a quick way to give someone read-only access to your calendar. For more options, see "By setting permissions in Outlook" below.

  1. In Outlook's Navigation Pane, click Calendar.
  2. On the Home ribbon, in the Share section, click Share Calendar. An email message will open with the subject "Sharing invitation."
  3.  Avoiding "permissions"
     errors

    Although you can type a name into the To field on the message, some people have reported receiving a permissions error using this method. We strongly recommend that you follow the path described in steps 3-6.

    Click To.
  4. In the Select Names dialog box that opens, make sure Global Address List is selected from the Address Book drop-down list.
  5.  In the search box, type the person's name or NetID, then click Go.
  6.  In the search results, select the name you want, click To (at the bottom of the dialog box), then click OK.
  7. (optional) If you would like to request access to this person's calendar, check Request permission to view recipient's Calendar.
  8. In the body of message include whatever explanatory text you feel is appropriate.
  9. Click Send.

The recipient will be able to view your shared calendar by following the steps on our Viewing a Shared Calendar page.

By setting permissions in Outlook (read-only or higher)

If the person viewing your calendar uses Outlook 2011, not all of the choices listed in step 10 here will work for them. See our troubleshooting tip for details.

This option lets you choose which level of access to your calendar you want to give someone.

In addition, you can grant permissions to a CornellAD group in steps 5 and 6 below. This gives viewing (or other) rights to the members of that group. Please note that you can only specify groups that have been "permission-enabled" by the CornellAD administrator for your unit, or the group's owner. Short version: if you can see it in the Global Address List, it has been permission-enabled. (How do I know who to contact if I can't see a group in the GAL?)

  1. In Outlook's Navigation Pane, click Calendar.
  2. Below the heading My Calendars, you’ll see the entry Calendar, with your account name listed next to it in pale gray text. That’s the entry we’ll be working with in the following steps.
  3. Right-click Calendar. From the menu that appears, click Properties. A Calendar Properties dialog box will open.
  4. Click the Permissions tab.
  5. Click Add.
  6. In the Add Users dialog box that opens, make sure Global Address List is selected from the Address Book drop-down list.
  7. In the search box, type the person's name or NetID (or the name of the CornellAD group), then click Go.
  8. In the search results, select the name you want, click To (at the bottom of the dialog box), then click OK.
  9. In the list at the top of the Permissions tab, highlight the person (or group) you just added.
  10. From the Permission Level drop-down list, select the desired level of access. (What do these choices mean?) We recommend that you choose one of these:
    Free/Busy time - this is the default value. When proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, the person with this permission can see blocks of time when you are busy, but cannot see other details, such as subject, location, participants, notes, or attachments. (See our Proposing a Meeting page for details on checking availability while proposing a meeting.)
    Free/Busy time, subject, location - when proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, the person with this permission can see time, subject, and location of the items on your calendar, but cannot see other details, such as participants, notes, or attachments. (See our Proposing a Meeting page for details for details on checking availability while proposing a meeting.)
    Reviewer - the person with this permission can open your calendar and see the details of the items on your calendar, but can't add, delete, or change anything. (See our Viewing a Shared Calendar page for details on how they can open your calendar.)
  11. Click OK.