Skip to main content

IT@Cornell


How to Monitor, Move, or Cancel a Net-Print Job

By monitoring your print request, you can:

  • see if your print job is stuck in a long queue,
  • move your job to another printer, or
  • cancel your job if you notice an error.

Remember these requirements:

  • You can only move or cancel a job before the printer begins actively working on that job.
  • You can only move or cancel your own print jobs, not anyone else's.
  1. On any Net-Print web page, click the Printer Status link.
  2. Click the name of the printer to which you sent your print job. You should see a table listing the rank, job (or file) name, time sent, sender's NetID, and size of each print job in the queue. 
  3. If you do not see your print request, wait a few moments for the queue reports to be updated. If your request never appears in the queue, it may have already been printed, or there may be other problems. For troubleshooting advice, click the FAQ link on any Net-Print page.
  4. To move your job to another printer, click the check box next to the job name in the Select column. (You can select more than one job if desired.) Then click Move Job and select a new printer by choosing Click here to select printer.
  5. To cancel your job, click the check box next to the job name in the Select column. (You can select more than one job if desired.) Then click Cancel Job. You cannot undo this action.
Picking Up Your Printout

Printouts are usually stored near the Net-Print printer. Before you leave, flip through your printout to make sure that no one else's pages have accidentally been included. If you can't find your printout, check with the lab operator.